Getting Crafty

Cactus pin cushion

I came across a creative pin cushion challenge from All Free Sewing. Since I was looking to make a pin cushion or two anyway, I decided to give it a go and post it for the challenge. I got my idea from http://www.gleefulthings.com/blog/?p=471 and simply made a few modifications. I didn’t have a spare flower pot anywhere, but I did have this votive candle holder, and I think it works just fine. Small projects like this are perfect for using up my scrap yarn stash. If you want to make your own pin cushion or check out the other submissions, the challenge can be found here: http://www.favecraftsblog.com/allfreesewing-presents-the-creative-pincushion-challenge/.

Knitting needle case

The other thing I did today was sew this case for crochet hooks and knitting needles. I have tried a lot of different cases and cups for my needles but I didn’t have one that was both easy to transport and easy to access. This one was actually a pattern for a pencil case, but the size fits crochet hooks perfectly, and is pretty close for most of my knitting needles. I am still pretty new to sewing and this was my first time ever sewing in zippers- I think I am getting over my fear! Does anyone else have cool ways to store knitting supplies? I would love to hear from you!

Coordinating lining and zipper

One thought on “Getting Crafty

  1. I don’t really have any cool way of storing my needles, but I love the cactus!

    I was lucky enough to find a large box of knitting needles at a garage sale, and the needles were already sorted by type into large ziploc bags, so I just incorporated my own needles. I’ve got plans for a roll-up holder sometime soon, though!

Leave a Reply

