Lazy Summer Days

Lily from my garden

What a lovely weekend it has been. I have really been enjoying watching my small shabby garden that I planted last year start to pop up again. Let me tell you something about this garden. I was truly shocked that anything grew there in the first place, let alone grow again the next year. It is planted in a small corner of the yard; a yard that opens up to the alley and is more gravel than dirt. In a pathetic attempt to make this horrid space look pretty, I threw down a couple bags of soil and threw some wildflower seeds on top of that. The soil I had gotten for free from a classified ad and there seemed to have been some bulbs mixed in with it. I didn’t expect them to do anything, but I have seen some flowers which I definitely didn’t plant.

Park in the Loop

I also planted sunflowers last year, and boy did those grow! I wish I had taken pictures of them, but alas, I am not one to remember to photograph things. I have been trying really hard to remember to take pictures these days. They grew to be taller than me, which means they were probably a good 6 feet or so. I have seen the beginning of them sprout up again, but they are pretty slow it seems right now. This is the first garden I have ever planted myself, although I have kept lots of potted plants inside, with various results. For awhile I had a monstrous aloe plant that kept outgrowing every pot I put it in. We decided to take the dog for a walk downtown since it was such a nice day outside and the gardens there were in full bloom as well.

Awesome!

The second part of my weekend was seeing one of my favorite bands play in Milwaukee. We got free tickets to an Against Me! show while standing in line for the last concert we went to. This is not the first time I’ve crossed state lines for a concert, and it probably won’t be the last. Driving 2 hours for a show can get a bit daunting, but it was totally worth it this time. The venue was much smaller than anything in Chicago, and so we could see everything up close. The band was super happy to be there and the lead singer could not stop smiling the whole time, it was awesome! The venue also lacked any bouncers near the stage and as a consequence several guys were leaping up on the stage towards the end and singing with them.

I love you Tommy Gabel

2 thoughts on “Lazy Summer Days

Leave a Reply

